Home » Mittens » One mitten down, one more to go.

One mitten down, one more to go.

The more I knit with this yarn, the more I love it.

Usually, I’d say that my “default yarn” is sock yarn – it’s versatile, easy to care for, comes at a great yardage for a small price (depending on the brand, of course), and it’s very resistant.

raucherhandschuhe-01

This yarn, of course, is different. It’s 100% Merino, it’s Aran weight, and I have to use larger needles. But I love the feeling of the yarn. I love that the mitten smells like wool. I love how the stitches slide from one needle to the other. The stitch definition is beautiful as well.

But I find that I love the process. When you look at the original pattern of Cigar, you will see that there are two stripes, not three, and that the stripes are of the same width.

I changed this up insofar as that I knit two more rows with grey after having put the stitches for the thumb on a stitch holder (aka a big safety pin – I was too lazy to fiddle around with scrap yarn), mostly to stabilise the two stitches I cast on over the thumb, before I started to knit three rounds with the charcoal grey wool. From there, I counted up – one row of grey, two rounds of charcoal, two rounds of grey, one round of charcoal  – and then it was time to put even more stitches onto a yarn holder for the pinky, and to cut the charcoal-coloured yarn and to continue with grey.

raucherhandschuhe-03

Although it’s the first time for me to knit a mitten with fingers (although the first three are only covered to the knuckles), it isn’t quite as fiddly as I feared (I’m really thankful that my father has

large hands). The mitten looks huge when I look at it, but my father tried it on the day before yesterday and it fit him fine. They are not snug, but he said he’d prefer a bit of a looser fit anyway, so everything is absolutely how it should be. Sewing in the ends and closing up all the gaps that appear when you pick up stitches and cut yarn and join new yarn, etc. took some time, but, well, these are mittens with fingers, after all, so what to expect?

raucherhandschuhe-02

After I came home from what was a really strenuous shift, I started to knit on the second mitten – and lo and behold, I am almost ready to put some stitches onto a stitchholder again. 😉

I’m really enjoying the process.

 

Take care my friends! All the love!
Julia 😀

2 thoughts on “One mitten down, one more to go.

  1. Huhu, ich würde dich gerne anmailen und kann deine Adresse nicht mehr finden (Asche, Haupt, in Grund und Boden schäm, wie immer halt. Ich Tomate.). Könntest du sie mir noch mal schicken?

    Lieben Gruß,
    Susanne

Leave a Reply

