Home » Spinning » Bathing in colour

Bathing in colour

JUST when I said that the colour palette has come to more soothing tones … This arrived in the mail:

mondschaf-bestellung-november-2016

Now, normally, I do not order much online. I don’t even have an amazon account. I have made exceptions for spindles or fiber though, and this was one of them. These fibers are from Das Mondschaf (link to her shop), and they are absolutely gorgeous.

Now, I have been spinning on and off for a few years now. I own two drop spindles – one that I got at a Renaissance fair and a second, smaller one from Ashford.

merino-red-spunAugust Challenge 02

I also tend to buy unicoloured fibers – don’t ask me why – and I have a lot of Merino (I learned to spin on Merino, and I only learned that it was “hard” later. Ah well. 😉 )

I also have to say that, while I finally went and bought myself a wheel (!) in May (!!) (Anna, please don’t be mad that I haven’t contacted you yet about yours; we DEFINITELY have to meet!), I like the spindle a lot, it seems to be more “personal” somehow. (Then again, trying to spind for the Tour de Fleece gave me a patelly inflammation, sooo … 😉 ) Maybe I just need to learn how  to warm up a bit more to it.

Okay, back to the picture on the top of the post.

mondschaf-bestellung-november-2016

The fiber on the right is 100% Polwarth – I like to start with “pure” fibers to get to know them properly before I start with a ton of blends, as I figure that this is easier.

mondschaf-polwarth-01

If you have read this blog for a while, you will know that I am not a big fan of the colour pink. But since the other top I had ordered was sadly out of stock, I opted for this one instead – and I have to say that I don’t regret it a bit.

mondschaf-polwarth-02

The top weights 125 grams, and as you can see, there is a lot of pink …

mondschaf-polwarth-03
… but also green and blue and red and white and orange. 🙂 It reminds me a lot of a rosebush, and I am really looking forward to spinning it! (Maybe I’ll try a 3-ply?)

The other top

mondschaf-falkland-01

Was love at first side. I already thought it beautiful on the website, but when I spread it out

mondschaf-falkland-02
It took my breath away. This is 100% Falkland, 125 grams …

mondschaf-falkland-03

and it can’t get over how beautiful it is. The colours remind me so much of the illustrations in a children’s book, and it is absolutely gorgeous. This will become a 3-ply, and I’d like to spin it on the spindle … And I am already a bit nervous because I’m afraid I won’t do the colours justice.

I am just glad that I will have a bit more time to decide …

jakobschaf-01
Because I still have about 50 grams of Jakob fiber to spin, and I am only halfway through.

grey-singles-07

Have a wonderful first advent Sunday, my friends! Take care!

All the love,
Julia 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Bathing in colour

  1. Wunderschön! *seufz* Und wieder Zeit fürs alte Mantra: Ich brauche kein neues Hobby. Ich brauche kein neues Hobby. Ich *schluchz* brauche kein neues Hobby! Wäh!

    • Ja, die Farben sind echt schön – und ich weiß, was du meinst, mir geht es bei Faserbildern auch immer so. 😉 Aber: Es nimmt echt viel Platz weg und VERSPINNEN muss man das auch alles noch. 😉

  2. Keine Sorge wegen des Rädchens, das steht ja bei dir gut… Vielleicht schaffst du es ja mal zu einem unserer Spinntreffen, damit wir mal dein Rad bewundern können und du dir Tips holen kannst. Polwarth und Falkland sind übrigens zwei meiner Lieblingsfasern!
    LG Anna

Leave a Reply

