Home » Shawls and Scarfs » Kauni’s Arrow

Kauni’s Arrow

I am in love. It’s been a week. I never saw it coming, but here I am.

I had almost finished the Colour Explosion sneakers and had discovered that my last yarn splurge had reduced my destash-o-metre from 615grams to 21 grams, when I realised was going to face an hour-long drive to a friend’s birthday party and wouldn’t have anything to knit on the way. I dug through my stashbox and unearthed one of the balls of Kauni yarn a friend at knitting group had given me approximately two years ago.

Kauni EP

A quick search through my queue provided me with Jenny F’s everday shawl (link to pattern page), a beautiful pattern perfect for yarns with long colour repeats. I scanned the pattern, asked Philipp to print it out for me and decided to give it a try.

Simple Shawl 01

The everyday shawl is a stockinette stitch shawl that starts off with an arrow-shape and changes directions after you have finished the increases, and the magic of the pattern – apart from the shape – is the fact that you alternate between stockinette and reverse stockinette sections (I love it when shawls are completely reversable).

Simple Shawl 02

I started with a 4,0mm needle and managed to finish almost two repeats on the drive to the party (it was midnight when we left and it was too dark to fuss around with increases and yarn overs and sl2sts k-wise, k1, psso without being able to see what I was doing).

Simple Shawl 03

Measuring my gauge the next morning made me realise that my gauge was two stitches off (too big) and since I do not have 620 yards, but rather 612y), I frogged it all and started anew, this time with 3,5mm needles. (I’m still one stitch off, but nevermind). Simple Shawl 04

I love this pattern. Somebody on ravelry compared it to a bag of potato chips (you can’t stop until it’s finished), and I can definitely relate to that. I don’t even know what it is that makes knitting this shawl so addictive (it’s pretty straightforward, which makes it easy to work on while I’m tired, that’s a bonus), but the colour changes definitely help.

Simple Shawl 06

Of course, Kauni isn’t known for its immediate softness. It’s 100% wool, and quite rough, and the last few days have been hot for a change (which makes knitting real fun when you have sweaty fingers), and the project is getting a bit big for taking it on commute, but I don’t mind. I’m really optimistic that washing the shawl will soften it …

Simple Shawl 05

And THEN, I will have one of the most perfect and beautiful accessoires in my wardrobe to date.

Prepare for updates with pictures.

 

Have a lovely Sunday, friends!

Love,

Julia 😀

One thought on “Kauni’s Arrow

Leave a Reply

