Home » WIPs » Squares of Green

Squares of Green

Hi all! 🙂

Wow, I sat down to write a blog post a couple of times already, but although I have finished some stuff, the words just wouldn’t come … So I am trying again tonight, this time with my current WIP. 😉

As you may recall, I have made a few baby items for friends and family members (i. e. my cousin) who were expecting additions to the family!

This time … E. is the lucky one! I am really, really happy about this, because E. knew that she wanted to be a mother for ages, and she wants to have more than one child and now, the Little One is expected at the end of August! 🙂

When E. told me the happy news, I immediately said: “I’ll knit something for the baby, if you like. What would you prefer – a cardigan, or a blanket?”

We talked a bit about that, E. conferred with her husband (who is awesome, by the way!), and they decided that they would like a blanket.

I sent them a few emails with suggestions for a pattern and suitable yarn, and in the end, they settled for the Sunny Baby Blanket, a wonderful freebie on ravelry. 🙂

I went and bought yarn:

Merino Plus 02
As you can see, the yarn is called “Merino Plus”, and it’s a very, very beautiful Merino/Acrylic blend that comes at 125 metres per 50 grams ball. Yay! 🙂 (I love the colour, by the way.)

I jotted down the basics of the pattern, knit a swatch with 3,5mm needles, got 17sts instead of 19 in garter stitch (without blocking) and took a ball of yarn, the notes and a 4,0mm needles to my monthly knitting group meeting.

Meadow Baby Blanket 01

I spent all afternoon happily casting on 321 stitches, and started to work on the bottom border, which consists of 16 rows of garter stitch (8 ridges).

I was just starting the pattern and wanted to check how the stitches were distributed, when the little voice that had been pacing around in my head for a while, forced me to look on the beginning of the pattern. “Co 132 sts”, it stated clear and simple.

Damn.

To be completely honest, I DID contemplate whether I should simply go on (because that’ such a great idea, right? … I mean, the baby WILL grow up and might own a kingsize bed one day … ), but then I pulled out the needles and spread the knitting out, and when I realised that it covered almost BOTH of our desks … I frogged it all, rewound the ball and started anew.

This time with 132 stitches.

Meadow Baby Blanket 02

So far, it’s going great. I love the pattern and the yarn. And with 132 stitches, things are going a lot more faster, too. 😉

Enjoy your weekend, friends! Love ya!

Julia 😀

2 thoughts on “Squares of Green

  1. Pingback: Soothing colours | Words and Stitches

  2. Pingback: Welcome Presents | Words and Stitches

Leave a Reply

