Home » Socks » Socks for a Jolly Good Fellow

Socks for a Jolly Good Fellow

Saturday was a very special day …

… because a certain someone celebrated a very special birthday.

Sometimes, birthdays are a funny thing. As a kid, you count down the days to the big event, you probably can’t sleep very well the night before and you are nothing but excited to finally get another candle added to the cake.

The older you get, the less excited to become, because, well, you know the game, you know what to expect, but you are still looking forward to it, because there still is some cool stuff you get (like, the permission to buy/drink beer, get a driver’s licence, vote …)

Biotopia Socks 01
2016 marks the year of Philipp’s (and my) 30th birthday. On the one hand, this is a bit strange … Thinking that maybe a third of our time here is over, at least according to statistics. On the other hand, it’s a pretty cool thing (at least, that’s how I feel about it).

Since I wanted to knit Philipp more pairs of socks anyway (he’s got six now, I am aiming for 10), we went shopping on the day before New Year’s Eve and he picked the yarn above (early, but I don’t want to buy yarn until the end of March πŸ˜‰ ).

I wasn’t too fond of the colourway, but it was what he wanted, and since it’s his feet and his birthday and not mine, I shrugged it off and pictured myself knitting away happily on a pair of big socks (he asked me to make them loose so he can wear them over his sport socks for extra warmth), ignoring the colours and seeing the whole thing as a labour of love.

Biotopia Socks 02

Well, labour of love my arse. πŸ˜‰

The colours were alright – actually, you only see the stripes from very far away (like in the photo above), but the yarn is “busy in itself” (I don’t know if that makes any sense), and it was splitty as hell, demanding lots and lots of attention all the time. I cast on 72 stitches and started to work the cuff. That took ages and aeons until I reached 5cm, but I actually tried Wei’s Bark pattern (but decided that you wouldn’t see too much of it) and the Rotating Rib pattern the Yarn Harlot once posted on her blog, before finally settling for stockinette (I didn’t rip it all out in between trying out patterns. I may be strange, but I’m not masochistic).

Biotopia Socks 03
Because I wanted to try something new, I decided to use Wei’s Geek Sock pattern and do an afterthought heel – Philipp’s feet are slender, and I wanted to have two pairs of socks with this heel (my Geek socks have it, too), to see how well it holds up (this doesn’t judge the heel, but rather my skills at performing a decent kitchener stitch).

Biotopia Socks 05

There were some hardships on the way – at first, I knit the foot part until it measured not 10cm less than the overall length, but 11cm, and knit the toe according to the Regia chart. Philipp tried the sock on, but we could already see that it was WAY too long, so I ripped back and added another centimetre, before decreasing according to the Regia chart (accoding to the smaller size). This time, it came out a bit short, and in the end, I settled for Wei’s instructions for the Geek socks and that was absolutely fine.

Biotopia Socks 08

When the socks were done, Philipp tried them on (before his birthday – but we did the photos on Sunday, after he had reached the proper age, you know), and it became very clear that no, socks under this pair are not an option.

I was a bit bummed that they are so tight, but he loves them and we agreed that I will make him another pair (this time with 72 stitches and 2,5mm needles, though). The fit is great, and since he has slender ankles (see photo above), I made the heel as wide as my own and grafted when I had 24 stitches overall.

Biotopia Socks 06
This birthday was very interesting in so far as that there is a hint of pity starting to show in other people’s comments. A colleague of mine (who will turn 30 in May) asked me how my guy would “cope” with it, and admitted that he didn’t want to turn 30 (fun fact: Same colleague is getting married in Octobre. In my humble opinion, this is far more “grown-up” than your date of birth ever can be). Philipp has mentioned that he is “getting old” already a couple of times, and I don’t know why, but this irritates me a bit. 30 isn’t old. Yes, 30 isn’t 20, and yes, you can expect a certain degree of responsibility and maturity from a 30 year-old (at least more than from someone who’s 20) – but then, Philipp has never been irresponsible before, and he has always been calm and gentle, and thoughtful. He’ll be fine at 30.

Biotopia Socks 07
He was really, really happy when he unwrapped the socks on his birthday, and he was very enthusiastic about his other presents as well (I got him “The Thing-Explainer” book, the first season of Sherlock and The Witcher 3 for the PS4 – you actually have money to spend if you don’t buy yarn. πŸ˜‰ ), and he had a great birthday (he said so, too). I am so very thankful for having this wonderful man at my side, and I am curious what he’ll be like during the next 30 years to come. πŸ™‚

Love you.

5 thoughts on “Socks for a Jolly Good Fellow

    • thank you! πŸ™‚ They do do fit well – really well, so that’s great. His next pair will be bigger though – for wearing above the socks again, and that’s fine. πŸ™‚

  1. Pingback: So, how’s it going with the Stash? | Words and Stitches

Leave a Reply

