Home » Socks » Aaaand …. done!

Aaaand …. done!

Yay!

Weihnachtssocken 12

I’m done! At about a quarter past 11pm, the socks were done and thus, I have finished all of my Christmas knitting for 2015! Yay! More info (and better photos) will follow after Christmas, when he will be allowed to wear and model the socks. 😉

Since the other pair was for Little M.’s gran and she decided she’d rather pass on the Christmas presents (she’ll get a little package of cookies instead), she’ll get her socks in March for her birthday.

A., little M.’s mum, who was another likely recipient of a pair of socks, decided that she’d really like a knitting book on how to knit socks, so we got her Stephanie van der Linden’s Sock Workshop (the link takes you to the ravelry page). The new edition contains instructions on how to knit socks toe-up and two-at-a-time, as well as a selection of heels, toes and cuffs and lots of other useful stuff. I decided to throw in a ball of Opal’s “Ladies’s and Gentleman” that has sat in my stash and was intended for a pair of socks for her anyway, so that she can put the book to good use right from the start.

Ladies and Gentleman

The colourway is called “Lebendig”, meaning “alive” in English. 🙂 She will also get socks for her birthday, but that won’t be until the end of March …

With everything settled, I have me a bit of time to knit on stuff that got laid aside, such as the lace scarf:

Grey Leaves of November 01

and the Amiga cardigan (which I AM determined to finish in January the latest):

Amiga Cardigan 03

The Nurmilintu will take a trip to the frog pond, though … I had finally arrived at the first lace section and quickly realised what I had already feared: The red yarn will NOT be enough. It won’t look good. So I am frogging everything (untying the yarn as I go – I just haven’t brought myself to engage is such a frivolous activity, too much fun can kill a person) and I will have to see what I can make with it …

Thank you so much for your patience, everyone. I know that it’s a bit quiet around here, lately, and I don’t quite know why myself. I want to blog and share things (I got a present at the last meeting of our knitting group I want to show you, and I have been doing a TON of planning for 2016), but my mind is somehow too full to get everything on paper. I have been carrying the ideas to a little story in my head as well during the last few days, and maybe getting that out of my system will get the flow going again.

Thank you for commenting nevertheless (special greetings to Wei here!) and I AM reading your blogs and enjoying your articles, and I AM going to write comments as usual soon. 🙂

Have a wonderful week and don’t be too stressed out before Christmas!

Lots and lots of love,
Julia 😀

2 thoughts on “Aaaand …. done!

  1. A present of a book and sock yarn is fantastic! You’ll have a sock-knitting buddy in no time. Have a wonderful Christmas with family and friends! And all the best for 2016! x

    • I agree with you – she HAS knit socks before, but I don’t know what kind of yarn she has and how much yarn and stuff … So this will definitely allow her to branch out a bit! 🙂

      I wish you a great Christmas with your family as well. May it be peaceful and quiet!

Leave a Reply

