Home » Socks » Cabled Birthday Socks for Gran

Cabled Birthday Socks for Gran

I made it! The socks were done in time and I didn’t have to stress and stay up until 3am and … I made it. 🙂 Hooray.

Bly Socken 06

Low and behold, these are the socks I made my gran for her 83rd birthday. As I already told you, I wanted to make a heavily cabled pair for her, because she knit so many pairs of socks over the years that she stuck to plain patterns – stockinette stitch or ribbing. Since my granddad gets only mildly patterned socks, I used this as an opportunity to get crazy! (Also, I wanted to knit an intricate sock pattern for quite a while and this was the perfect chance.)

Bly Socken 07

The pattern for the socks is Bly, a free pattern by Caoua Coffee on ravelry. If you love to knit socks and have a faible for music (especially opera and musicals) you should definitely check out her designs! Most of them are inspired by characters from the musical genre. Most of her patterns, if not all, are free, too! I find that incredibly generous of her.

Bly Socken 08

Although the pattern looks very complicated, it is not very hard cable-wise. You have a variety of 1/1, 1/2, 2/1, and 2/2 cables, and they are all very manageable. The pattern is very well-written, with crystal-clear instructions and easy-to-read charts.

Bly Socken 09

Despite the cabling, the socks are somewhat stretchy, but won’t sag anywhere if your stitch gauge is 31sts to 4 inch instead of 34. The toe is completed by ribbing, and while I followed all the instructions about the length of cuff and leg, I made the toe decreases according to the Regia charts.

Bly Socken 10

A small, but very beautiful element of these socks is the heel flap. I don’t know about you, but the heel flap is the most boring part for me, even when I am knitting stockinette throughout. Caoua seems to feel the same way, because she made really nice embellishments by letting the small cables run all the way down to the beginning of the heel.

Bly Socken 11

My gran was very fond of the socks, and I do hope they will fit and bring her lots of joy! And if you wonder about the hairy legs – all shots were done with assistance of Philipp, my trusted sock model. 🙂

The socks are knit in European size 41/42 and used up 79grams of a ball of Zitron Trekking Sport XXL, which has great stitch definition. They are ravelled here – you will get all the data there, too. 🙂

 

Oh, and about the socks that need to be darned? I finally got the most unusual advice from a fellow raveler, who suggested that, maybe, I could frame them? Not all of them, but maybe one sock per pair? I really like this idea. Philipp too, by the way.

 

Enjoy the rest of the week, my friends! Take care!

Lots of love,
Julia 😀

7 thoughts on “Cabled Birthday Socks for Gran

  1. Did you know that Caoua Coffee is the free pattern range of Stephanie Van der Linden? She is so very kind, offering all those wonderful patterns for free. You have done a wonderful job of the socks! Love the framed idea – a fitting memorial of the socks from your gran!

    • No, I didn’t know that! Wow. That blows my mind a bit right now … In a good way! I got ONE book by her out of the library, and it was FULL of mistakes. I checked the publisher’s page for this book and there were errata for almost *every single pattern*. I never tried to knit anything from that book and from thereon eyed her patterns with a moderate dose of scepticism …

      It’s good to know that her own patterns are flawless! At least this one was, and the pattern truly is great. Yeah! Thank you so much for restoring my faith in her! 🙂

      • I think that is one of the issues that designers have with others laying out their patterns and ‘editing’ them. There is a lot to be said for self-publishing!

  2. Pingback: Do you want to know a secret? | Words and Stitches

  3. Pingback: So that was that. (featuring lots of yarny pictures) | Words and Stitches

Leave a Reply

