Home » Socks » It wasn’t meant to be.

It wasn’t meant to be.

It had started so well.

We met at last year’s Handmade festival and it was fascination at first side. The stripes! The colours!

For a couple of minutes, I was confused as I didn’t know what to take home. The wonderful blue/green combination with the wonderful colourway “Rainy Day”? Or a purple-blue yarn entitled “Tea Party”?

 

 

Auenlandsocken 01

And then the KAL for Susie White’s Zigzagular Socks started. And I knew I had the perfect match. I couldn’t participate – I was too busy with other stuff – but I put the pattern firmly on my queue and swore me that I’d knit these socks in the Rainy Day colourway and name the project “Shire Socks”.

Auenlandsocken 02

Yesterday, I finished the heel flap and the heel and even started the gusset decreases.

Auenlandsocken 03

This afternoon, I finished the decreases and knit a couple more rows for the foot. It was smooth sailing. I had all the time in the world to finish these.

And then I tried them on, because something wasn’t right.

And it wasn’t.

Because the stripes are so bold that you do not see the pattern.

And I am probably the only person on ravelry who picked a handdyed yarn (which was quite expensive, by the way) that apparently had the motto “I shall overcome” and refused to be restrained by a pattern.

And the biggest joke of all is that from the photo above, you won’t understand what the problem is.

 

So off to the frogging pond it goes and I will probably make a pair of http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/kebnekaise-socks with the yarn.

So much for a pair of socks for me … Grrr ….

8 thoughts on “It wasn’t meant to be.

    • this is a great suggestion. Thank you so much!!! I had the pattern here somewhere, I have to dig it up on my computer … I am taking a break from them right now, they gave me too much pain. 😉 Yesterday, I started a pair of Christmas present socks and I hope that I’ll get them right … I have now cast on for the THIRD TIME so I should be okay …. (HAHAHAHAHA) 😉

    • Yeah, me too! It was one of the more expensive purchases on that day, but I saw the skeins at the booth (the owners had samples of each colourway knit up, which I loved – it was the only sensible way to show off the gorgeous job Drachenwolle had done) I immediately knew that I wanted the yarn. I don’t regret buying that colourway, but had to restrict myself to one (which is totally okay).

      They rest right now – I started a pair of socks I will give away for Christmas (the yarn was part of the Supermassive Stash Haul in June) and after casting on for the THIRD time (grrrrr) I hope they’ll come out lovely. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Braiding and Flooding: I’m knitting socks for others | Words and Stitches

  2. Pingback: Big Plans and Little Items (The Forgotten Projects III) | Words and Stitches

Leave a Reply

