Home » Hats&Caps » A Spec(k)tacular Hat! (With a truly? spectacular premiere!)

A Spec(k)tacular Hat! (With a truly? spectacular premiere!)

Technically, I am busy enough right now – with granddad’s scarf on the go (I am finally binding off and have to be done by tomorrow) and Rabbit (who still sits in Frankenstein mode) on the needles. Oh, and the socks for E. They are not done yet either, but I want to give them to her next week. Because, apparently, I don’t have enough on my plate as it is.

But!

Nothing is better than loading even more stuff on an already overflowing plate, and thus I participated in a testknit. It has been a while since my last one, and this time it took up very little time (for a change).

Of course, the yarn was blue.

Soft Merino_blau 02
The designer (of the hat. Not the wool.) is Megan Elyse Williams. She’s from Canada and I didn’t know her before this testknit, but she had this beautiful other design I wanted to testknit at first, but didn’t let myself because of the aforementioned scarf and Rabbit. Oh, and the socks for E. Yeah.

But then, I saw her new design for a hat, and I had (haha! pun! haha!) to jump right in and grab that opportunity by the tail. Or the ears. I can’t remember anymore (probably the ears. After all, it’s a testknit for a hat … Okay, okay, I stop. Promise.). Anyway, she blogs here and her designs are definitely worth checking out!

I got lucky and was allowed to testknit the hat – it is a truly beautiful design that hasn’t been published yet.

Spec(k)tacular Hat 01

Yeah, I know … it doesn’t look like much if you look at it like that. 😉

BUT! LO AND BEHOLD! If you look at it like this:

Spec(k)tacular Hat 04

That’s quite presentable, if I may say so myself! 😉

The hat was a really fast knit; I timed myself (as I always do with testknits) and I used exactly 4 hours and 44 minutes (yay!). It also uses up 54g of worsted/aran wool, which makes it perfect for a quick gift. The hat is knit bottom-up and I used the Old Norwegian/Twisted German Cast On, which makes a stretchy, yet very neat edge. Otherwise, I knit it as written on magic loop, switching to DPNs for the last couple of decrease rounds. Only I had to go down to a 3,0mm needle to get gauge, but that’s no problem really.

I am very happy with my new hat! And you finally know what my hair looks like. 😉

For further information and more photos, feel free to take a look at my project page (please note that you have to be logged into ravelry for seeing it).

 

Have a great day!
Love,
Julia 🙂

3 thoughts on “A Spec(k)tacular Hat! (With a truly? spectacular premiere!)

Leave a Reply

