Home » Uncategorized » A Blog Award! For me!

A Blog Award! For me!

Hi all!

Liebster Blog Award

About 3 weeks ago, I received a “Liebster Blog Award” from asuka! She blogs on Nadelspielereien about her cross stitching projects (which are not always cross stitching), her knitting, crafting and everything else. asuka is a very intelligent, funny woman who gets a LOT done (that’s even more awesome because she’s got 3 kids and every motherย  knows – I can only imagine, of course – how busy you are) and (almost?) finished her Master’s Degree recently! Give her a request for a project and she. gets. it. done. Plus: She’s a librarian. HOW COOL CAN YOU GET?!?

In her nomination, she counted me among her “new heroes”, wich makes receiving the award even more flattering (blushes).

As with every award, there are a couple of rules here, and since most of my readers are native English speakers, I will translate them:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you. (Check.)
  2. Link to the blog of the blogger having nominated you. (Check).
  3. Put a picture of the “Liebster-Blog-Award” somewhere into your posting. (Check.)
  4. Answer the questions. (In a minute.)
  5. Think of 11 new questions you are going to ask the bloggers you’re going to nominate. (Err … kay.)
  6. Nominate 5 or more blogs with less than 300 followers. (I don’t know. I’m not gonna check. I’ll just nominate. I am rebellious.)
  7. Inform the nominated bloggers in a comment of their nomination for the award! (Yep. Will do!)

 

Alright … Now, since asuka writes a German blog, of course her questions are in German, too. That’s not much fun for my English readers out there! That can only mean one thing: On we go, translating again:

  1. If your hair was exactly as you wished, how would it be?
    Well … I like my hair. My hair is pretty cool. It’s a light brown (or a dark blonde, judgements change), very thick – and its numbers are legion. Really, I have SO MUCH HAIR (on the head. Don’t get any ideas!), I’ve been envied a lot for it, and I cannot go to the hairdressers’ without being commented on it.
    So: No changes here! But I really love red hair, it looks so beautiful. And I wouldn’t mind curls, because they are so pretty (although every curly-haired woman will probably disagree with me. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )
  2. Your best friend finally got hooked on your favourite hobby! Which book do you recommend to her (you already taught her the basics).
    Probably a book by Elizabeth Zimmermann, because you can always learn something new and being entertained is never bad. And of course one of the Yarn Harlot’s books. Sadly, I only own “At Knit’s End”, but I love it so much and I definitely hope to get more! Or buy them. If I ever have money. ๐Ÿ˜‰
  3. Are you really creative or is that just something others say about you?
    Mhm … I’d say yes I am. At least when it comes to writing. I have journaled for 18(!!!) years now (it amazes me every time I think about it), and during the last four(?) years at least, I have written morning pages … I write short stories and poems, and I blog (alright, I hope). I knit and I spin and I will try out new things a lot. If that makes me creative … I think, in an American sense, “yes”, in a German … with the writing, “yes” as well (I think there are some cultural differences in “being creative”, but I don’t want to get into that now, we all have other stuff to do as well!).
    What most people WILL say about me, though, is that I can interest myself in almost everything. It is something my friends seem to be somewhat fascinated by.
  4. Santa Claus or the “Christkind”? (this is difficult, because “Christkind” is a German concept. Learn more about it here.)
    The Christkind. Definitely.
  5. Do you have a local accent?
    Yes. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I speak the local dialect (and I can even speak it at work. I sometimes exaggerate a bit to delight the tourists. ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). But I also speak “High” German fluently. ๐Ÿ˜‰
  6. When you go shopping, do you pay attention to how much waste your purchases will produce?
    Yes, because I was raised that way. I never take plastic bags, but have cotton bags in all my purses. I don’t buy stuff that is over-packaged (for example, fruits in several layers of plastic). I recycle and have been known to rip yoghurt packages apart to separate the plastic from the cardboard. This is just how I roll.
  7. Which of you has travelled farer? You – or the veggies on your plate?
    That depends. I haven’t travelled very far so far. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I eat mostly local veggies, but I eat bananas and Mangos … So: Fruit, yes, veggies – we’re even. ๐Ÿ˜‰
  8. Which place in Germany should be absolutely visited?
    The Ruhr Area. During work, I frequently encounter folks who come for the first time and are blown away by the fact that no, it’s not gray and black and stinking and smoking from every corner. We have lots of green spots. We have LOTS of cultural events, tons of museums, theatres and cool places to go. Come and see. (That okay, boss?)
  9. Is there something in your parents’ house you definitely want to own at some point in the future? If yes – what is it?
    That’s difficult to answer. I don’t know if I want any furniture of my parents. But my mum loves books and is a book collector, so I’d like to get one of our favourite books … There is also a little Swedisch wooden horse that stands on one of my parents’ bookshelves, that would be cute to have. It’s a Dalahorse (ours is blue, though). May that day be ages away.
  10. Bike or car?
    I don’t own any of both, I either go in Philipp’s car, by public transportation or by foot.
  11. Since you started blogging – has the way you take photos changed in any way?
    Well, let’s say I have tried to make it a bit more artistically. I don’t know whether I have been successful – most of it is alright, I guess. ๐Ÿ˜‰

WOW! YOU’RE DONE!

So, I am nominating Kiwiyarns Knits,ย Sandi, Pantoffelschnecke,ย Pans and Needles andย Worsted!
I love your blogs. They inspire me and I love the people writing the blog posts. Keep up the good work! You’re ace.

Here are your questions:

  1. What was your favourite toy when you were a kid? Do you still have it?
  2. Do you remember your dreams?
  3. Free takeaway food! What do you order?
  4. Do you smile at strangers?
  5. What is your favourite way to travel?
  6. What was the last book that made you cry?
  7. Which film do you absolutely detest?
  8. Which knitting designer would you love to meet and have a chat with?
  9. How big is your stash right now?
  10. Do you grow any plants at your home?
  11. Alaska or New Zealand?

Have fun and I’d love to hear from you!

Love,
Julia ๐Ÿ˜€

4 thoughts on “A Blog Award! For me!

  1. Congratulations on your very well deserved award! And thank you for nominating me. ๐Ÿ™‚ Please don’t be offended if I don’t play along. I’m not very good at that sort of thing. I find answering questions and then asking others stuff in public quite hard when it’s not about knitting! ;P

    • Don’t worry about it. ๐Ÿ™‚ In fact, this is the first award I have finally answered – there was one, maybe two before, but I somehow never got around to it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Hi Julia! Thanks so much for including me! I have been a very bad blogger lately, and have a tone of unblogged projects to get to, so if it takes me a while to get to this (or if, like so many other things, I don’t), please know that that doesn’t reflect how I feel about it! I will tell you right now, though, that no. 8 has got to be Jared Flood. That man blows my mind!

    • hi Angela!
      I know you have been so busy (I think all of you are – I wanted to include you all nevertheless, because I simply love what you write) and I already figured there was a good chance this thing might NOT make it on top of your “To-Do” list. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Don’t worry about it, if you’ll get to it, I’m happy and if not, I’ll simply read about all the great stuff you have been making. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Jared Flood surely would be interesting to talk to! His designs are awesome from what I have seen so far. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

