Home » Yarn » Flash your stash 2015! (Truly picture-heavy)

Flash your stash 2015! (Truly picture-heavy)

Hi there! πŸ™‚

I am sorry that I was quiet for so long, but somehow, I had a very strange mixture of stuff-to-do and free time and didn’t get round to blogging …

Stash 2014

As I said in the last blog post, I recently took part in the “Flash your stash!”-thread in one of the ravelry forums. After looking at amazing quantities of yarn (the “amazing” reffering to both the yarn and the size of certain stashes), I decided that I’d get my stash out to see it all in one place. In the picture above, you can see everything I have that is yarn-related. Everything. After thinking for a while about how to photograph the stash, the fibre, WIPs and UFOs and all that, I finally arranged it on the living room floor and climbed a step-ladder. Yo.

Stash 2014

I am aware that the reactions to this picture may differ greatly. In a recent discussion in one of the ravelry forums, I was told that I had “nothing” (I was immediately told afterwards, that it was “beautiful nothing” πŸ˜‰ ) and when I compare my stash entries to those of ravelry friends, I think I have a middle-sized stash.

For me, however, it is quite a lot. It is not overwhelming, but a lot. A couple of years ago, I showed you the boxes that hold my stash. I still have only these three boxes, but they are full to the brim, and so I got everything out with the firm intention of not buying a lot this year. (This comes in handy as I will have less money for a couple of months, I don’t know how many, but let’s not talk about that …)

So! Can I take you on a little Tour de stash?

After taking the big family picture, I arranged the yarns in groups according to weight and made smaller group shots. Let’s go …

2-ply, Lace weight

These are all my lace yarns. Interestingly, I only bought four of them for me – the others were all gifted or intended for others, hence the dominance of blue. πŸ˜‰ This is wool from Lanafina (orange), a gorgeous silk-aplaca-cashmere blend called “Oriental spices” (red and gray and brown), then a lovely, lovely silk-merino blend I got from Silvia during our “Julklapp” on the Christmas meeting of our knitting group. The Julklapp-yarn of 2013 is next to it on the right (gray and black, I’ve knit the Γ‰taΓ­n-stole with it). The two purples are Lana Grossa Merino laceweight and the Lanafina yarn I knit my gran’s shawl with. In the front, we have alpaca yarn (gray), Zitron’s Fili-Silk (black), then gorgeous yarn Sara from “A year at the wheel” sent me two years ago, and another Lana Grossa Merino in blue.

On to the 3-ply!

3-ply

Yes, this isn’t much. πŸ˜‰ It once belonged to my gran and during one of my visits, she pulled it out of her stash and gave it to me, because she didn’t need it any more. I don’t know how large her stash is, by the way – she once told me that one day, we’d get it all out and she’d sort out what she wouldn’t use anymore and then I could see whether I wanted any of it. Quote gran: “We’ll do that when your granddad isn’t at home, okay?”:D

4-ply. Fingering weight

This is the largest section of the stash – sock yarn. I have made separate group photos here as well, but I’d like to share them at the end, so not much to say and on to the

5-ply. Sports weight

5-ply or sport-weight yarn. There is a lot of different stuff here – on the left, there are three balls of Kauni wool I got from another knitting group member (hey Yvonne – THANK YOU SO MUCH AGAIN) because she didn’t like the colours and wanted to make more room for her stash. Then there are yarns for the Totoro Jacket and (in gray) the yarn for my Amiga cardigan (which I intend to finish this year. Promise). Then there is some cotton yarn I got from my gran as well (in white), red angora yarn (also from my gran), green Zitron wool I used for my cuffs and, in the front, red alpaca yarn I got from Philipp for our anniversary last year and some handspun from me.

8-ply, DK weight

The next yarn weight is again not much in colour, but a lot in quantity – this here is all my 8-ply or DK-weight yarn. I want to make a sweater with it and got it on sale last year in the summer. πŸ™‚

10-ply, Aran weightThis is all my Aran weight yarn …

10-ply, Worsted weight

And this is all the worsted weight I have. The brown aran wool at the right is intended for another sweater again (I really want to tackle these this year!) and the big ball next to the blue is handspun as well! πŸ™‚

Fibre Stash

Talking about handspun – this is my fibre stash! Most of it is Merino (the red and the green and the brown in the back), but the purple one is Southdown, the white in the bag is Norwegian wood, er, wool. On the right in dirty white, we have Coburger Fuchs (lovely) and the gray in front of that is Jacob Sheep. The brown fibre next to the spindles is Irish wool and spins really well. πŸ™‚

Handspun

This is what I have made from it so far. My results in handspinning are humble, but for the moment I am really happy with them, and we all star somewhere. πŸ™‚ Handspinning is fun!

WIPs and UFOs

Oh, and these are all my current WIPs and UFOs at the moment: A scarf for T. (sorry, it STILL isn’t finished, but the yarn-needle-combination is terrible), my 15-stitch-blanket, my Amiga cardigan and another Wingspan I’ll talk in another post (the one after next).

Are you still there?

As I said, I got out the sock yarn and divided that further, according to dyers and companies. So I proudly present:

Drachenwolle Stash

Drachenwolle – Lavendelwolke (lavender cloud), which I still have to frog and get into a ball again, and “Rainy Day”, which will become a pair of socks.

Handmaiden Cashbah StashΒ  This is Handmaiden Cashbah sock yarn Philipp brought from his Vancouver trip – I felt incredibly spoilt and still have to find the perfect pattern for the red ball. The blue-gray one was knit into a pair of Theologian Sleeves.

Opal Stash

This is all my OPAL sock yarn. I thought about getting a subscription once or twice (that gives you 6 skeins of OPAL yarn every 3 months), but I guess it would be too overwhelming. OPAL yarns are beautiful and sturdy and the best, but since I like simple patterns with colourful yarn, that doesn’t give me a lot of opportunity to knit patterns.

Ponderosa Stash

This, on the other hand, is luxury sock yarn. It’s Ponderosa, and I have knit 2 skeins of it already. The colours are gorgeous and I treat myself with yarn at the Handmade festival. The yarns in the back were bought in 2013 – the skein in the front in 2014.

 

Zauberball Stash

Last, but not least – Zauberball! There is a plan to make a striped scarf with these two – let’s see when I get around to that. πŸ˜‰ If you knit a lot of socks, there are of course a lot of leftovers …

Leftovers

… and all the ends are put in an old honey-jar.

Yarnscrap Jar

So, yeah! That’s it. That’s my stash.

Photographing everything made me realise how much I love my stash and how happy I am with the yarns that I have. I understood that I don’t have to be sad that I am on a yarn budget (although I still have that gift certificate I got for my birthday), because I have lovely yarns that give me lots of opportunity to knit beautiful things for me.

Oh, and Philipp’s reaction to seeing the stash in the living room? “Well, that’s not so much. You could get some more yarn …”

πŸ™‚

That’s all for now, folks! Have a great start of the week, I’ll talk to you soon!

Take care!
Julia πŸ˜€

9 thoughts on “Flash your stash 2015! (Truly picture-heavy)

    • Thank you so much for commenting! πŸ˜€
      Last year, I read a couple of cross stitch blogs, and some of the stitchers put their thread ends into vases or small glas bowls – both for decoration and to “keep track” of how much thread they used.

      I liked the idea a lot, so I copied it. I don’t know what I am going to do with last year’s scraps, though … Maybe I’ll leave them for the birds. Or put them into another jar. We’ll see. πŸ™‚

  1. Hehehe. I love your baby stash. πŸ˜€ Your grandma’s comment about “wait until grandad isn’t around” is truly funny. I’d just love to see what she has stashed away! Thank you for sharing. It is nice to see how much you love yarn.

    • Thanks! πŸ˜‰

      I have to say, though, that my granddad is totally relaxed about it. The year before last(?), I did a bit of cross stitching and when I went to my grandparents and asked gran for patterns, she looked me dead in the eye and said: “Don’t. Buy. Thread.”
      She then got out all her threads so we could find matching colours for the little project I was working on. As soon as my granddad saw the quantity of it, he looked at my gran and said – matter-of-fact – “There goes my old-age pension.”

      And then he started to laugh and helped us sort colours.

  2. I think your amount of stash is perfect should hard times fall – you can kit for a while from that – yet it is not so overwhelming that you don’t know where to start! Intrigued by your grandmother’s stash…

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚

      I have to say that I am really happy with it. I think I wouldn’t be comfortable with much more – there is simply too much unused opportunity around then and that’s a bit sad for me. I enjoy looking at yarn (and at stashes!), but maybe it’s not for me. (It’s too dear at the moment, too, but that’s another topic.) πŸ˜‰

  3. Pingback: 2015, Item #2: First Socks of 2015! | Words and Stitches

  4. Pingback: Gran’s Stash (Pictures. Loads of Pictures). | Words and Stitches

Leave a Reply

