Home » Mittens » Getting a move on!

Getting a move on!

Hi folks,

I know I have been away for a long time now. It wasn’t planned, but life got the better of me. Thank you that so many of you have not deserted me, but took a peek every now and then to check out whether there was something new! Thank you so much! 😀

The reason for my long silence, missing blogposts and not participating much in anything is a BIG one: I’m moving out of my flat and moving together with Philipp!

We have wanted to do that for quite some time now and started searching in April … Finally, we have found something that suits our needs and so the last two and a half weeks have been spent renovating, buying wallpaper, putting up wallpaper, selecting colours for certain rooms (we wanted to have one coloured wall in each room), painting rooms, cleaning out paint brushes (a job I have developed a lot of hatred for) selecting laminate for the floor, putting that in, painting walls … It’s been a lot and the last two weeks there wasn’t much time to do anything else besides work and renovating. My family has been helping a TON and I can’t thank them enough for that.

Truth be told, I’m a tiny bit worried, still. I have been living alone for almost six years now and really enjoyed it – I like being on my own, being responsible for my flat alone and sharing space with somebody will be a big change again. On the other hand – Philipp and I have been together for a really long time now, so I’m positive that we can make it. 😉

Apart from renovating, I’m catching up with the exposé for my dissertation (it’s high time, really!!) and, now that the painting and wallpaper stuff is done, finally got some private time as well.

So, because of all this stuff, there hasn’t been much knitting going on, but there is a bit I can show you, so HERE WE GO!

 

Widsith 01

I started the Widsith Socks ravelled (here) and have already managed the first one! Yay!

I also went on a workshop for swing knitting in Hattingen held by two lovely ladies, one of them belonging to my knitting group! We had a wonderful afternoon (and CAKE! SUCH GORGEOUS CAKE!!!) and I learned how to knit swing knitting, turning this beginning:

Swingstulpen 01

 

Into these gorgeous cuffs:Swingstulpen 02

Sorry for the blurry pictures, btw. 😉

 

Okay friends, I know that this is very frustrating, but it’s almost half past nine already and I’m so tired and haven’t eaten dinner and tomorrow, I’ll have to do TONS of stuff again … But I really wanted to pop by and give you a bit of a catch up. 😉

I’ll try and post  something about the workshop and other things soon!_The shawl hasn’t been blocked yet either … Oh man …

 

Lots and lots of Love!

Julia

P.S.: Would you like to see some pictures of the walls and floors we have selected?

3 thoughts on “Getting a move on!

Leave a Reply

