Home » Shawls and Scarfs » Projects In Between (Picture Heavy!)

Projects In Between (Picture Heavy!)

Hi folks!

The weather is … woah. During the last week, the temperature in my flat was constantly something between 26°C and 28°C … Add a handful of thunderstorms and I think you can imagine how I feel. 😉

My shawl is finished! This:

Fairy Shawl 01

is now a beautiful, slightly crazy shawl that I love already and that was so much fun to knit! It hasn’t been washed and blocked yet, however, so I’ll show it later, with decent photographs …

After I finished the shawl, I still hadn’t decided about the colour for my next project … I’ll knit the Widsith Socks next (link to ravelry pattern), but I was wondering wether I’d like them in a solid colour or a something variegated … This will be the first time I’ll take part in the Kal of the German sock knitters group “Sockenstrickereien”! It’s such a beautiful pattern … And free, too!

These are my choices so far:

To give myself a bit more time (and to BUST STASH!) I knit two smaller dishcloths, after reading through another thread in the ravelry forums about how good they are and how long they last and how much more eco friendly they are compared to the storebought ones. And so, these little green ones became projects #99 and #100 (!!! I have made a HUNDRED items! I’ve also crocheted some, but still …. 100 ITEMS!!!)

1. Dishcloth gruen 2. Dishcloth gruen 02

Dishcloths gruen

 

The left one (lying at the bottom in the third picture) has already been put to good use in today’s washing the dishes session … So far I am satisfied with both the cleaning result and the time it takes the little cloth to dry. Now I’ll only have to see how long they last … if that result is good as well, why not?

 

Have a wonderful Sunday! I’ll talk to you very soon!

Love,
Julia 😀

 

4 thoughts on “Projects In Between (Picture Heavy!)

  1. I have always been a bit dubious about knitting dishcloths as I don’t imagine them to be ‘heavy-duty’ enough for the job. However, after seeing how yours turned out, I think I might give it a go 🙂

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to write a comment! 😀

      I was very sceptical at first, too … My experiences with cottong had been that it took AGES to dry and I didn’t want to have a bacteria population in my kitchen!
      Just knit one up and see how you like it. Maybe it’s just the thing? 🙂

  2. That Widsith pattern is lovely – I like the meaning of the name too! I think both of your choices would look good. The garter would stand out in the Zitron. You could knit a little swatch…

    • Thank you so much! 🙂

      I like the name as well … I had a couple of courses concerning Old English literature and loved the stories … I love Zitron yarns, they have got such a good stitch definition. 🙂 I’ve already started and tell you what I chose very soon! 😀

Leave a Reply

