Home » Cardigan » WIP-Wednesday: A Welcoming Jacket

WIP-Wednesday: A Welcoming Jacket

N. is probably my oldest friend.

We have known each other since before kindergarden. We sat next to each other in Primary school, went to the same Secondary school (and sat in the same class) and graduated together. We were friends and had rows and were friends again, and somehow this is a friendship we both now will continue … forever. πŸ˜€

At the beginning of the year, I got a facebook message from her, telling me that we had to speak on the phone, because she had something to tell me …. And I think I already new what she had to tell me. πŸ˜‰ I still remember how happy she sounded – and how happy I felt – when she told me that she was pregnant and her husband and her were going to have a little family. πŸ˜€

We went for coffee a couple of months ago – and I know what everybody says about how pregant woment are always SO BEAUTIFUL – but she really is. There is a calm around her, a very radiant, glowing beauty that you sense only in people absolutely at peace with themselves. Sitting in the cafΓ©, talking to me, laughing and smiling, her calm and inner peace reached out to me and I, too, felt calm and shared her happiness.

When we had to part, I offered to knit something for her baby – only if she wanted to and I assured her that I’d chose something that she could really use and (probably even more important) throw in the washing machine.

That very evening, I chose my pattern.

I had looked at Cecily Glowik’s Provence Baby Cardigan (link to pattern page on ravelry) and decided that this was the perfect thing – N. already knows that they will have a girl, and I thought this cardigan very beautiful, but simple enough to be practical. So Philipp and me went to Hattingen (were I bought this wool as well) and I came out with three balls of ggh Merino Soft, a 100% merino yarn in fingering weight. It’s machine washable at 30Β°C and I do hope that this will be enough – but I tossed the swatch in with some jeans and it came out totally fine.

I have made some changes to knitting this – thanks to Anna from my knitting group, who helped me a lot with the math and encouraged me to try it (thanks again! HUGS!).

Instead of knitting the pieces separately and seaming them in the end, I decided to knit the body in one piece, divide at the arm holes and knit the sleeves top-down instead of bottom-up. since you have seen the photo above before, you already know that I placed the leaves at the wrong ends … But I like the look nonetheless.

Jacket for Little lady 03

This is how far I got until yesterday. I will really work on this to finish it, since N. will have her baby the next month or in early July, but you never know and I still have to finish the back, knit the sleeves and the button band – and sew the buttons on, something I haven’t done in a while.

Knitting the sleeves will be tricky, since there are no real measurements that allow me to knit them “backwards” – but I will do the math considering the original gauge and then my gauge and we’ll see how it goes.

As you can see, I didn’t cast off at the end of the fronts, but put the stitches on waste yarn – I thought I could try a three-needle bind-off or kitchener them together.

Any suggestions about the bind off and the colour of the buttons, by the way? πŸ˜€

I really love knitting this for N. if she wants me to, I will knit more, a hat and a pair of socks … but this will be a welcoming jacket for a little girl one of my oldest friends will be mother to. It’s a good feeling, really. πŸ˜€

 

Take care, folks! And help yourself to a strawberry!

Love,

Julia

Erdbeeren Mai 2014

8 thoughts on “WIP-Wednesday: A Welcoming Jacket

  1. Thank you for the strawberry!!
    The jacket looks great and congratulations on how well your modifications have gone. Buttons – I love buttons – there are so many about. I would have a little search on Etsy to find something nice, since its special.

    • Thank you so much, Lucy! πŸ˜€ (and you’re welcome about the strawberry. πŸ˜‰ ).

      I am very glad that everything worked out the way I thought it would – I became a bit nervous when it came to binding off some stitches for the fronts, but in the end, I knit to the end of the row and then knit the left front first, then attached the yarn anew for the right front and then for the back – it was easier than I thought. Although it might look better with the leafes at the inside of the front … But I am not going to frog now.

      Etsy is a good idea! I might look at DaWanda as well (that’s the German equivalent), but this is brilliant – and they really have some lovely things there. πŸ™‚ THANKS!!

  2. This is so cute! What a great pattern, and in that colour, totally unisex (in case your friend decides to have a second child).

    For the sleeves, there are lots of free patterns out there that could help you sort out the numbers. More or less straight with some decreases should work, though. Your friend will love it!

    • Thank you so, so much for that suggestion, Angela!!! πŸ˜€ I’ll have a lookaround and try – in the end, I can always refer to the photograph. πŸ™‚

      I asked her wether she wanted the cardigan (or the sweater) in a particular colour) and she told me that basically everything except red was okay … So I thought that blueish green would go with a lot of stuff and could be worn in a variety of occasions (also, because it is not overladen with details). I’m knitting this in the size of about 6months, so it will probably be too big … But I thought I’d rather be on the safe side and knit something that could be worn for a bit longer. πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks! I took my time selecting the colour, but I didn’t want PINK and I thought that green goes with almost everything (and every haircolour, by the way. πŸ˜‰ )

  3. Pingback: Welcoming (the) Jacket | Words and Stitches

Leave a Reply

