Home » Musings » FO Friday – On Socks and Books.

FO Friday – On Socks and Books.

Hi there! ๐Ÿ˜€

We are close to the first Sunday of Advent, yet the weather reminds me a lot of autumn – wind and lots of rain. Perfect for sitting on the bed, snuggling into a blanket and reading for hours … Yesterday, my mum and I went to the library, to return old books and get new ones.Among them are a couple of historical novels written by Bernhard Cornwell – and if you are the least bit interested in historical fiction that is set in England, then go and read one of his books. Cornwell was born in Britain, but has lived in the U.S. since the 1980’s and started writing because he wasn’t allowed to work in the U.S. His Wikipedia website is here if you are interested. I ‘discovered’ him a few years ago, while going through the “sales!” boxes of a bookstore. I picked up the first book of his “Arthur Chronicles”, which had a bad slash on the back (when opening the package, the cutter must have gotten through the book). Cornwell (who has studied English) writes marvellously, he gives you tons of information about the Old English times without turning this into a lecture. He is a magnificent storyteller and the only thing that soothes me over the grief of having finished the Arthur Chronicles is that he has written a bunch of other books I am now going to read. ๐Ÿ˜€

I love the library. During my first years of university, I worked as a cashier in a book shop, which made me buy a lot of books that sounded good but turned out merely “okay”. The year before last, however, I started going to the library again, and it has become a beloved habit of mine. I have more or less grown up in that library – every month, my mom would take my sister and me to these halls. I have told you already that my parents and grandparents had to read tons of books to me – as soon as I was in first grade and had mastered the first letters of the alphabets, I became a frantic reader.

While I still use it to try new authors and new books, I’ve come to value it as a source for new information and an opportunity to learn about topics that are completely new to me. Because of this, among the historical novels, I chose a couple of theologian books, Thomas Mann’s “Buddenbrooks”, Terry Pratchett’s “Thud!” (books that are “normal” for me), I also took a book about birdwatching with me (funny, because there aren’t so many birds aroundright now – and I know what a magpie looks like, thank you very much) as well as a book about owls (because I loved the photographs) and two books about astronomy, because I can see the night sky through my windows up above and can actually spot a couple of star constellations. ๐Ÿ˜€ So awesome …

To top off this delicious choice, I chose three CDs with music I can listen to while knitting (I love that): One with classical music and two of them that have Christian Chants, ranging from the 5th(!) to the 14th century. I know, it sounds crazy – but I love these chants a lot. I love them, as I love reading the psalms in the Old Testament. They share my happiness, cheer me up, support me strengthen me and express what I sometimes can’t.

Another benefit is that I will connect T.’s scarf, my second pair of Theologian sleeves and a pair of testknit socks with these chants. It may sound funny, but I can remember where I was, what I watched or listened to for most of the garments. My granddad’s Socks fit for the North Sea will forever be linked to a selection of classical music, while another pair is connected to a walkthrough of “Batman – Arkham City”.

The socks above show you what I have been knitting on during the last months. The earliest sock was knit in August(!) and I remember knitting them at the house of a friend from a knitting group during a wonderful, relaxing day spent knitting and laughing:

The pattern is “Orchideen Socken” by Romy (pattern page) and although it works well with handdyed yarns, I used it on the Opal Sweet and Spicy yarn in the “Sorbet” colourway. They are knit top-down, with a long cuff – I started with 88 sts which I then decreased to 60 sts, so that the overall leg measures 20cms. They are very easy to make and look really great! (Despite the bad photograph, sorry for that). This is the project page where you can read about how I made the cuff.

The second pair of socks was for me again and I knit it during our last holiday in Horumersiel:

Yay, Jaywalkers! I am so glad that the yarn matches the pattern … Finally … I tried out the Harvest Dew pattern first, but wasn’t happy with it. I then debated to knit the yarn into an Oaklet Shawl, but this didn’t feel right … So these are my Jaywalkin’ on Sunshine socks! ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m not a huge fan of yellow, but these socks certainly brighten up every gray day. ๐Ÿ˜€ Fun fact: I had to knit these on a 2,0mm needle! WOW. And I usually knit tight …

Next are the lovely Cup of Tea socks:

They too were knit during the holiday and I cast on for them as soon as the Jaywalkers were off the needles. I love this pattern and hope for the patience to knit another pair for myself! This pair is one of the Christmas gifts and will be given to Little M.’s grandmother. ๐Ÿ˜€

And now – finally – this is what my granddad will get for this year’s Christmas: The Matrimony socks. Although I was afraid that you might see nothing of the pattern, progress proved me wrong … This is a quick and easy knit as well, modelled by Philipp. They are done and I hope he likes them. ๐Ÿ˜€

Okay, guys, sorry for all the rambling … I hope you liked what you saw and I wish you a great weekend! Take care!

Love
Julia ๐Ÿ˜€

9 thoughts on “FO Friday – On Socks and Books.

    • Thank you so much! ๐Ÿ˜€
      I love to see what others knit as well, that definitely played into the decision of showing the socks, even if they have been worn a couple of times already (except the presents, of course ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). In my opinion, it helps to see what a pattern looks like “in real life” rather than on a modell every now and then. Glad you liked it! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Hooray! ๐Ÿ˜€ (and thanks for the compliment!) I was so glad to find his books in the library, to be honest .. right now it seems that the only topic you get to read in this field is “a woman who tries to find her place in a man-dominated society!” and I am SO fed up with this by now! Mostly, because these books are not the tiniest bit original anymore … ๐Ÿ˜‰ So murdering and plundering Vikings/Danes or Arthur’s epic battles are a very nice .. what’s the word? …. change? (That’s not the word, but I can’t find it now … Maybe exception).

    • Thank you so much! And do try him! I’ve started the Uthred-Series the day before last(? I think it was on Monday …) and he is BRILLIANT. Simply awesome. ๐Ÿ˜€

  1. Pingback: Current WIPs: Variatio delectat! | Words and Stitches

Leave a Reply

