Home » Shawls and Scarfs » WIP-Wednesday: Blackberry Jam in Theologian Sleeves

WIP-Wednesday: Blackberry Jam in Theologian Sleeves

Hi there!

I hope you are well … I, for my part, am on sick leave with an inflamed throat that made it impossible to speak on Monday. So during the last two days, I haven’t done much except drinking lots of tea, taking my medicine, reading and sleeping … And knitting. I’m taking it slow so I can go to work on Sunday when the shops are open between 1oam and 6pm (this happens only a couple of times during the year, it’s nothing regular).

The socks for my gran are finally finished (last weekend!), but I couldn’t take a decent picture yet, the light was too poorly and I haven’t seen Philipp (my trusty sock model for shoe size 8/9) early enough during the last days, so you’ll have to wait a little bit longer.

Instead, I have been knitting on a wonderful pattern that was published two weeks ago: The Philosopher Sleeves by bohoknits. (ravelry link). I set to work immediately and produced the first of what I call Theologian Sleeves (for, you know, obvious reasons):

Remember the wool? This is Drachenwolle in the colourway “Lavendelwolke” I showed you in this posting. The sleeves are finished, but will be frogged, since although I can wear scarfs and shawls made from sock wool, they are too scratchy on my upper arms. But, never fear! I made another pair, out of scrumptions yarn Philipp brought me from his trip to Vancouver in May:

They are 50% done andย  love the first one. The yarn is – listen to this! – Handmaiden Casbah Sock Yarn, and it consists of 81% Merino wool, 9% Cashmere(!!!) and 10% Nylon. I swear, I never had such wonderful, luxury yarn before – and this incredible guy brought me two skeins! I immediately knew that this yarn would NOT be knit into socks (also, because it’s “only” 325m), so the sleeves are an amazing substitute project. The other skein (in the colourway Blackberry) will become a scarf or a small shawl. This is how the skein looked like in the beginning:

The colourway, by the way, is called “Vancouver” – very convenient. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Remind me to tell you a bit more about the project when it’s finished!

Anyway, back to the yarn on top of today’s posting:

This beauty is Atelier Zitron’s Filisilk Lace, a wonderful yarn made from a Merino/Silk mix. I bought it at this year’s handmade festival (I still have to show you the rest of the haul) and it is to become T.’s Christmas present.

When I asked T. earlier in the year if she’d like a handknit item for Christmas (and if so, what kind of item), she decided on a lace scarf in charcoal gray. I wanted to get good luxury yarn for this (she also turns 30 this year, therefore this was totally justified) and when I found this yarn, I was set immediately. I gathered a couple of patterns and she chose one of them. While reading the whole pattern instructions through, however, I realised that there was a problem: The scarf she had chosen was knit in two halves which would then be kitchenered together. Mhm. A couple of questions at my knitting group (“Will you see this?” – “Yes, you probably will …”) convinced me of talking it over again with her.

To cut a long story short – the Marmalade Scarf it is. (again, ravelry link). I got started yesterday (on blunt wooden needles!), but after the first shock, I like it a lot:

The silk creates a very fine halo on the yarn so that it’s colour isn’t constant, but is shimmering just a bit. It’s soft, but not totally slippery and although I already had to tink back a few stitches and ripped out the beginning about three times, it still holds up well.

This won’t be the fastest of this year’s Christmas presents. But definitely the most elegant one. ๐Ÿ˜€

Take care!
Julia ๐Ÿ˜€

P.S.: I joined Tami’s Amis WiP-Wednesday for the first time! ๐Ÿ˜€

7 thoughts on “WIP-Wednesday: Blackberry Jam in Theologian Sleeves

  1. I made a pair of socks out of Casbah yarn, and they are awesome in every way. I don’t think you will be disappointed wearing it on you arms or heck – you could wear that stuff knit into a ski mask ๐Ÿ™‚ lovely stuff.

    • I agree completely. Not only is the stitch definition very good – I also tried the sleeve on several times while I knit it (mostly to determine the arm length after the first set of decreases) and this time, it didn’t scratch a bit. It’s awesome! It’s wonderfully warm, too! I’m so glad that I have another skein of it … ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. I’m knitting my mum a shawl for Christmas using Handmaiden Casbah sock! It is so scrumptious. That reminds me, too, that I have a shawl on the needles for myself in this yarn โ€“ cast on last February and never finished! Shame on me.

    I hope you’re feeling better soon!

    • Thank you, that’s very kind. ๐Ÿ˜€
      I was so surprised how clear the stitch definition with this yarn is. Sure, it’s slightly thicker than the average sock yarn (at least the average German sock yarn), but everytime I look at the finished sleeve, it strikes me again. I love your shawl, by the way – you know that I’m a huge fan of garter stitch anyway, and this pattern is simply superb. ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Pingback: WIP-Wednesday: Shelter-knitting | Words and Stitches

  4. Pingback: Handmade! Or: Stash additions (TONS of pictures!) | Words and Stitches

  5. Pingback: Flash your stash 2015! (Truly picture-heavy) | Words and Stitches

Leave a Reply

