Home » Shawls and Scarfs » FO Friday a Day Early, or: Finished Stuff

FO Friday a Day Early, or: Finished Stuff

These are done! :) And they're incredibly comfy ...

These are done! πŸ™‚ And they’re incredibly comfy …

Hi folks! πŸ˜€

Last Saturday, Philipp was kind enough to do a bit of aΒ  photo session with me to show off everything I had finished by that time (right now, there is one more pair of socks, my sister’s hat and three(!!) small hats, but I’ll have to take pictures in decent light). But there is a lot to see nonetheless … Shall we?

This is me sitting on the edge of the sofa, trying not to knock it over (leverage effect, brought to you by …). More photos of the Drop City socks are on my project page. I love how they turned out: I knit them from the toe up, but decreased the cuff every 5 rounds until I had 88 stitches on the needles; then I bound off using the Surprisingly Stretchy Cast Off.

Also, the Simply Simple Socks were ready to being photographed as a pair:

I haven’t worn them yet, but they look lovely and I’m so happy to have yet another warm pair of socks for the winter! πŸ˜€

Also, there was a shawl that I started in January but finished in May: It’s the Larch Shawl, very beautiful and warm and lovely (and just a tiny bit too small):

The reason for the long pause was a mistake I made and that took me 1446(!) stitches(!!) to tink back(!!!), so I needed to be REALLY calm when I did this. But I am happy that I got it right in the end, and it has already been worn a couple of times.

The best thing about the pictures above? Everything’s for meeeeeee …. πŸ˜€

So long!
Love,
Julia

13 thoughts on “FO Friday a Day Early, or: Finished Stuff

    • Thank you! πŸ˜€ truth be told, I was worried that “leverage” was the wrong word and I’d embarrass myself to no end … :mrgreen: I always check “dict.leo”, but it isn’t always right.

      I’M happy you liked what I did! πŸ˜€

    • Yeah, it was kind of hard. πŸ˜‰ I am not a Zen-personality, so that probably earned me extra points in the willpower category. Also, the yarn was not easy to tink back, because it liked to clink on for dear life … BUT! I succeeded. That’s what counts. πŸ˜‰

    • Definitely! I love to knit for others (the three hats I’ve just knit will probably go to charity again) and I have made lots and lots of gifts – but it’s nice to keep things, wear them and feel immensely proud of myself. πŸ˜€ It’s a really good boost for my self-esteem! πŸ˜€

    • Me, too. And you’re right about my photographer: Actually, I was quite surprised how enthusiastic and patient he was while we were taking pictures. On the other hand, I had to switch tops, so that might have played into it as well … :mrgreen:

      When I showed him my last finished pair of socks, however, he was like: “They’re great! So we’re taking pictures this weekend?!” So he truly IS excited about my knitting, which is great. πŸ˜€

    • Thank you! πŸ˜€ If you have Second-Sock-Syndrom, try to cast on for the second sock as soon as the first on is off the needles! I always do that, even if it’s late at night. I don’t have to knit the first row, just starting the second works for me. πŸ˜€

      Also, thanks for the compliment on the pictures, I’m quite new to this, to be honest. πŸ˜‰ but then, I didn’t know how much fun it was taking a decent picture of your FO! πŸ˜€

    • Thank you! πŸ˜€ I love them as well – I usually prefer unicoloured yarns if I have a pattern, but vanilla socks always come out great in colour. πŸ˜€

  1. Pingback: 2015, Item #1: Dinner for One (Der 90. Geburtstag) | Words and Stitches

Leave a Reply

