Home » Socks » Drop City Socks

Drop City Socks

flower-power-02

Whenever I fill out a questionnaire, I am completely at a loss as what to fill in where it says »What is your favourite book?«.

I don’t know. Honestly, I don’t know. As a small child, my parents and my grandparents (especially my granddad) had to read tons of books to me, often so many times that my mum is still able to recite a couple of them by heart if you wake her up for it at 3am in the morning (not that I tried that, though :mrgreen: ).

I try to wiggle my way out of that question by naming a couple of authors I love, but still, this isn’t enough. There are, in fact, books that I have read 20 times or so, and there are others that I haven’t read as often, but that have touched me deeply and taught me a lot.

My first encounter with T.C. Boyle must have been around 2004, when my boyfriend at that time had to read »The Tortilla Curtain« for his A-levels. He hated it, and told me that it wasn’t really worth looking into.

A year later, it was my turn to read »The Tortilla Curtain«. I liked the story, despite the very sad ending (the storytelling, by the way, is really good). When I had to choose a topic for a longer essay, I decided to compare two of Boyle’s short stories and when Christmas arrived, »A novel written by T.C. Boyle« was on my wish list.

On Christmas Eve, I unwrapped »Drop City«. I was sceptical. The cover looked a bit … weird (I do prefer it over the newer ones now, though!), and the story sounded … Weird as well.

»Drop City« tells the story of a hippie commune who travels from sunny California to Alaska, because you can live in total peace and harmony with nature there (and folks simply don’t care about hippies, because there is so. much. space). It also tells the story of Sess Harder and his wife, Pamela, who want to live an autarky life, living from what nature provides them with, and being as independent as possible. When these entirely different people meet, you don’t have to be a genius to foresee that this will be … interesting at the least.

I have given copies of this novel to almost all my friends. I have read it countless times, and the more often I read it, the more I love it and the more little details I discover. I have often read it when eating something – and I often had to eat something while reading it, because the food descriptions are so mouth-watering. 😉

I usually don’t praise a book to the high heavens, (because I feel bad about all the other amazing books, but this book has everything.
Interesting, deep characters described with great detail.
Beautiful landscapes.
Amazing Food.
Lots of animals and wildlife descriptions.
Beautiful sentences – this book holds the No 1 place on my list of »Awesome first sentences«: It begins with »The morning was a fish in a a net, glistening and wriggling at the dead black border of her consciousness.« Try to top that!

And of course, there’s lots of sex, drugs and Rock’n’Roll. The phrase »If you only read one book …« has been used so often that it’s almost meaningless by now, but for this one, it totally applies.

This yarn belongs to the Opal »Flower Power«-collection, and I bought it on my holiday to the North Sea (or rather, Philipp bought it for me, being the amazing man he is). I started knitting the socks toe-up, but struggled with the instructions for the »wrap and turn« and frogged the first sock. Then it sat in my stash for almost a year.

Two weeks ago, however, I took it out of my stash bin and decided that now was the time to knit myself some Hippie-socks. These are knit toe-up and the leg is about 20(?) cms long, including increases for the calf. The second sock is almost finished and I can’t wait to show you pictures of the finished pair!

I am not a hippie person per se. But I am so looking forward to putting them on to brighten up my mood – and to wear them together with a more elegant dress. ‘Cause everyone needs a little bit of crazy flower power once in a while. 😀

One thought on “Drop City Socks

  1. Pingback: Handmade! Or: Stash additions (TONS of pictures!) | Words and Stitches

Leave a Reply

