Home » Socks » Just a little note …

Just a little note …

to let you know that all is well!

I’m fine, everything is okay – I just don’t have that much time at the moment. My guy has crossed the big pond and is in Vancouver, BC this week to attend a mighty important conference there. I miss him. A lot.

Some family members are ill and I’m knitting the second of the »Down the rabbit hole« socks for my mum – finally.

The socks you see above are for the food bank – yes, you guessed right, they are doing it again this year. In my opinion, this is simply fantastic. I plan to donate the 5 Little Hats, and if you look closely, you will remember this yarn … YES. It’s right. The Socks of Yuck are back! Since these are small (but caused me a little bit of trouble!) I named them »Little Socks of Doom« – the link takes you to the project page. 😉

I also took the time to finish my First Toe-Up Socks:

I already wore them on that day, that’s why the cuff is a bit wide.

What else? Ah yeah, tomorrow I will FINALLY hand in the paper that officially tells the university that I am ready to start my M.A. thesis now … I already did some research and have collected most of my literature, so I should be good. Four months of work, then I’m officially DONE …

I’ve got so much more to show you, but I want to take good pictures first. This isn’t the best posting I’ve ever written, but I hope that you will forgive me.

Take care!  😀

Love,
Julia

10 thoughts on “Just a little note …

  1. Thanks for the little note, I am sorry to hear of your family members being I’ll, I wish them a speedy recovery. Your socks look lovely and the name seems brilliant. Congrats on being so close to finishing with the master, you can do it!

    • Thank you so much! It’s nothing bad they have – just a cold, but although we can deal with a lot of stuff very well, a cold always knocks us out straight. :mgreen:
      Also – I’m glad that you like the socks (and YEAH the name is SO appropriate!) – I was quite relieved to read that I’m not the only one with this problem on one of the ravelry boards (i.e., knitting something for charity in what we think is a most ghastly colour; the most common response was “don’t worry, others will love it.”).

      I am SO HAPPY to start my thesis! I’m writing about one of the German reformators and his writings about Anabaptists – and I am SO happy to be able to start! My professor is very enthusiastic about it as well; she told me she’s glad that someone is picking an original topic for a change. 😉

  2. The socks are beautiful! And you have such a huge heart! Doing them for the food bank is awesome. I want more time for things like that…Having a difficult time finding that at the moment. Maybe for summer.

    • Thank you so much! The truth is, that I think I’ll be hogging my leftover sockyarns in the future to make socks for myself … But I am so happy that I can do something for others, because I can’t support someone financially or do other great stuff like that. 🙂 It’s not much, but maybe someone will be happy to get them. 😀

  3. “Little Socks of Doom”, absolutely love it. Your toe up socks look fantastic of course, the gradient of that yarn is super pretty. Sorry to hear that the guy is away, although you are so busy with super awesome academic stuff too. Congrats on this big step, it sounds like you have a fantastic professor, as I’m finding out in my own studies, that makes all the difference. And thank you for the kind words on my “kitty sled”, I’m quite happy with it myself.

    • Thank you so, so much! I am so glad that he’s back again … The week he was away was crazy it was as everything happened THEN, awful.
      you are too kind about the toe-up socks! I was a bit surprised that this worked out so well, to be honest, but I am really, really glad that I undertook the challenge and expanded my skills here. 😀

    • THANK YOU SO SO MUCH for that! 😀 I’ll try and post more often, it’s just become a little bit difficult right now, because of the time. 😉 We’ll see how it goes. 😉

      • You’re most welcome. Yea, life has its way of getting into what we plan doesn’t it. Well, anyhow, I’ll keep my eyes peeled for your next update 🙂

  4. Pingback: 2015, Item #1: Dinner for One (Der 90. Geburtstag) | Words and Stitches

Leave a Reply

