Home » Mittens » Making Christmas #1 or Grandfather’s Mittens

Making Christmas #1 or Grandfather’s Mittens

At the moment, I have a lot on my plate. Originally I didn’t plan to make so many things for Christmas, but when I add them up, I now get to about 8-9 items. A couple of the people who will recieve knitted gifts this year are reading this blog, but I can show you one nonetheless.

It is for my grandfather, who does not know about the existence of this blog and even if he knew it wouldn’t matter, because he doesn’t speak English. 😉

My grandfather is an amazing man. He is 83 years old now, but still rides his bike and goes running once a week. He has worked as a miner and lost three of his fingers in an accident when he was in his mid-twenties. Since his retirement about 20 years ago, he does half of the housework, now takes over jobs that my gran cannot do anymore and there is nothing that he cannot do (except speaking English maybe).

He got a computer when he was in his 70’s and got himself connected to the Internet a couple of years ago, because he was fed up with always having to ask other folks to print out information for him.

He does gardening, can repair everything, paints walls, helps when someone moves, renovates and makes beautiful stuff with inlaying saws. He is a living example of doing good and not making a great big fuss about it.

He taught me how to ride a bike, how to swim and how to play canasta, he built a game of nine men’s morris with me using buttons as pawns and once helped me sew together a ridiculous T-Shirt for a stuffed animal.

He has read countless books to me when I was a child, let me ride on his back, bought me an icecream even though it was »almost dinnertime« and he went to the cinema with me. He and my grandmother have taught me what it is like when someone loves me absolutely unconditionally.
Never, in the 25 years of my life, he has spoken the words »You can’t do that«.

He has taught me the value of honesty, truthfulness, decency and responsibility. He taught me the importance of being open-minded and of not judging a book by its cover.
He taught me that everything you love to do is worth being done and that one can learn and do things just for their own sake.
He taught me that it does not matter what the others say about you, because in the end of the day, it is you you have to stand up for and you don’t have to justify yourself. He showed me that some people are truly worth striving after.

He is one of the most important persons in my life. One day, I hope, I will be as good as he is. Maybe one day, I can set an example as well.

He’s getting mittens for Christmas. And he can use them when he is riding his bike or doing something outside. I wish him only the best, and many, many more years to come.

Mittens for my grandfather

9 thoughts on “Making Christmas #1 or Grandfather’s Mittens

    • Thank you so much! 😀
      Yes, I do hope he’ll like them … I made these out of sock-wool, and while winding them into a ball, I was already exclaiming several times to my guy: »Look at these amazing colour changes!« I also thought that he’d like them because I could always give them to him as »miner mittens«. 😉
      And I do have high hopes for them, actually, because I let my gran take a look first (sure!), and she assured me, that pattern and wool were going to be okay. Plus, my granddad really likes handknits and wears a lot of knitted socks in wintertime … And scarves. 😀

      The pattern is actually one taken out of an issue from the German issue of »The Knitter« – and I was THRILLED to finally use one of my two magazines! The construction is awesome, you do the thumb first and then the rest of the hand, and I had so much fun threading everything onto waste yarn … Sometimes, I am a little bit weird. 😉

  1. You grandpa sounds like a fantastic personality! I wish I had a grandpa like yours. I’m sure he will love your mittens to bits, hand-made presents from loved ones are priceless =)

    • Thank you so much! 😀
      Yes, it’s true – the older I get (and, to be honest, the older my grandparents get) the more I realise how truly blessed I am with both of them. They are amazing people.

      I do hope he will love the mittens! At least, the hand with the three missing fingers will be warm all the time. :mrgreen: (it’s okay to joke about that, he’s totally fine with it)

  2. What a wonderful grandfather you have! Reading about your grandfather brought back a lot of wonderful memories about my grandfather. I remember my grandfather teaching me how to tie my shoes, and he also taught me to ride a bike. Good times.

  3. Pingback: Mittens for Christmas! « Words and Stitches

  4. Pingback: Making Christmas 2014 #1 – Being mighty busy | Words and Stitches

Leave a Reply

